Daily Archives: August 2, 2009

Quitting The iPhone….

Quitting The iPhone…. A very interesting read from TechCrunch!!!

FB2DEADA-9E4D-48EB-B5A4-D8A0D1761F20.jpg

“I Quit The iPhone”

I have loved the iPhone, but now I am quitting the iPhone.

This is not an easy decision.

I was there in January 2007 when it was announced and I bought the first iPhone as soon as it was available. I happily bought the iPhone 3G a year later. I’ve proudly yelled ‘I Am A Member Of The Cult Of iPhone.’ I’ve been an unabashed cheerleader for the device to all who’ll listen. And I’ve scoffed at developers who said they’d abandon the platform.

But I’m not going to upgrade to the iPhone 3GS. Instead, I’m abandoning the iPhone and AT&T. I will grudgingly pay the $175 AT&T termination fee and then I will move on to another device.

What finally put me over the edge? It wasn’t the routinely dropped calls, something you can only truly understand once you have owned an iPhone (and which drove my friend Om Malik to bail). I’ve lived with that for two years. It’s not the lack of AT&T coverage at home. I’ve lived with that for two years, too. It certainly isn’t the lack of a physical keyboard, that has never bothered me. No, what finally put me over the edge is the Google Voice debacle.”

(Read Full article TechCrunch.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple, gadget, geek, interesting, iPhone

AT&T says “not us” about blocking Google Voice apps

iPhone1.png

MacNN is reporting –

“AT&T on Saturday issued a brief initial response to a Federal Communications Commission letters of inquiry sent to Apple, AT&T and Google on Friday regarding their roles in the rejection of Google Voice-enabled apps. Addressing concerns that it may have denied the apps to exclude a service that provides lower-cost long distance and SMS without using its data network, AT&T spokesman Brad Mays flatly denied any link between AT&T and decisions made by Apple as to which apps are allowed on the App Store, instead putting the responsibility on the iPhone maker. A larger response is said to be forthcoming.”

(Read full article at MacNN | The Macintosh News Network.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple, apple apps, daily news, geek, interesting, iPhone

Top TEN Free iPhone/iToch Apps 8.2.09

Top TEN Free iPhone/iToch Apps 8.2.09


1. Do Not Press The Red Button
Category: AppZap
Released: Jul 24, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: Unchanged


2. Waterslide Extreme
Category: Dare Digital Ltd
Released: Jul 16, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 3


3. Deer Hunter 3D Free
Category: Glu
Released: Jun 07, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 4


4. All 51 Games FREE
Category: DS Effects
Released: Jul 23, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 5

idisk.png
5. MobileMe iDisk
Category: Apple Inc.
Released: Jul 27, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 2


6. iDork Lite
Category: The Game Creators
Released: Jul 22, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: Unchanged

facebook.png 7. Facebook
Category: Facebook
Released: Jul 10, 2008
Yesterday’s ranking: 8


8. 1,001 Ringtones Lite (FREE RINGTONES)
Category: JLC Mobile
Released: Jul 18, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 11


9. iMobsters 10 Favor Points
Category: Jeff Witt
Released: Jul 28, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 7


10. BatteryStatus
Category: iPhone Wizards
Released: Jul 05, 2009
Yesterday’s ranking: 9

(Via Top 100 Free iPhone Applications – Pinch Media.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple, apple apps, daily news, Free, fun, geek, interesting, iPhone, ipod, iTunes