How to Fully Erase all the Info on your iPhone

How to Fully Erase all the Info on your iPhone
iphone.png
I talked about how a recipient of a refurbished iPhone was able to uncover sensitive data from the past user with a little searching.  I also talked about how there is currently no known way to actually clear the info on your iPhone.  Turns out I was wrong.  Read on to find out how to actually clear the memory.

Although this method reported by Securosis isn’t perfect, it’s definitely better then having someone finding out your PayPal password.

  1. Restore the iPhone from within iTunes.
  2. On the “Info” tab, un-check all options so you don’t synchronize calendars, email, bookmarks, and contacts.
  3. On the Photos, Podcasts, and Video tabs, uncheck “Sync …”.
  4. Create 3 big playlists with at least as many songs as the storage capacity of your iPhone.
  5. On the Music tab, select the first of your 3 playlists to sync. Make sure the storage bar at the bottom looks full after syncing.
  6. Sync your iPhone, change to the next playlist, sync again, and repeat one last time.

Using this method, all the sensitive info should be overwritten by the new music so when you send it in to Apple for the refurb program, all they will be deleting is music.  Now you can sleep easy and wait with baited breath for the 3G iPhone.  I haven’t had an iPhone to test this on, so if you do end up using this method, please tell us how it went in the comments.

Read [Securosis]

Full Story » | Written by Mark Rowland for Appletell. | <a href=”http://www.appletell.com/apple/comment/how-to-fully-erase-all-the-info-on-your-iphone//#respond&#8221; rel=”bookmark” title=”How to Fully Erase all the Info on your iPhone”

(Via Appletell.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple, gadget, geek, interesting, iPhone

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s